Taliban Announce Members of New Afghanistan Government

Faizel Patel – 07/09/2021

The Taliban has announced the first members of the new Afghanistan government. 

Taliban spokesperson Zabihullah Mujahid addressed the media on Tuesday where he announced the names of the new ministers. 

The Taliban swept into Kabul on 15 August following a lightning offensive seizing power from the Western backed Afghan government after twenty-years of occupation. 

The Taliban have hailed the US withdrawal as a victory for Afghans and a lesson for other invaders.

Mujahid said that Hassan Akhund has been appointed acting prime minister, while Mullah Abdul Ghani Baradar will be acting deputy prime minister.

He said the Taliban had decided not to form a complete political government 

“This time it’s acting ministers, so it has a little bit political side so definitely we will focus on the upcoming future government to bring expert people. This cabinet will only handle the current situation because people are facing poverty and people have problems. Now the security situation is getting well day by day, that’s why we need to focus on  serving the people.” 

Mujahid also announced that Abas Stanikzai has been appointed acting deputy foreign minister, and Mullah Yaqoob has been appointed acting defense minister.

Mujahid clarified that this is an “acting” government with “acting” ministers and will not be the future government of Afghanistan. 

(Twitter: @FaizelPatel143)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.